Difficult to start problem

My 2002 Chrysler Sebring LXi convertible (2.7L. V6) had always started INSTANTLY, either hot or cold, until this past May. It suddendly began taking from 3 to 5 seconds (hot or cold) of cranking before it starts. It had only 22,500 miles on it when the problem began. I’m an engineer and I was a professional auto mechanic when I was younger and I am an absolute fanatic on maintenance; the car looks and runs like it is brand new. I took it to my Chrysler dealer who had it for 3 days and were able to duplicate the problem, but can not find the source. I spoke to two service advisors during the 3 days it was at the dealer and both, independently, thought that the fuel pump was the most likely cause of the problem. However, the fuel pump pressure checked normal and they checked for pressure bleed down at the fuel distribution rails after a couple of hours, but all is OK. They also checked the crankshaft position sensor, but found no problems. They ran the code reader which showed no faults. There has been no change in gas mileage and once the engine starts, it runs perfectly. This change from instant starting to cranking for up to 5 seconds was so sudden that I’m concerned the problem will get worse and eventually it won’t start thus stranding me. Normally that would just be aggravating, but my wife is quite ill and being stranded with her in the car could pose a major health risk. I would deeply appreciate any thoughts you would have as to the source of the problem. Thank you for your time and effort, Fred Tamkin.

p.s. it has 100,000 mile platinum spark plugs, but I pulled one anyway; the gap and the color and condition of the electrodes is perfect, so it is very unlikely that the spark plugs are causing the problem.

Have you tried cycling the key on a few times before cranking to see if building up fuel pressure will prevent the delayed start problem?