Desperate times call for desperate fluids

Regarding urine in the radiator: Urine is actually, on average, neutral pH. In a pH balanced body. urine is slightly acid in the morning, (pH = 6.5 - 7.0) generally becoming more alkaline (pH = 7.5 - 8.0) by evening in healthy people primarily because no food or beverages are consumed while sleeping. On a daily average, though, urine is neutral. The slightly higher or lower pH that Andy put into his radiator will not be sufficient to “corrode” the system.

Duly noted…
:expressionless:

at least now we know where you go to the toilet. If I was a mechanic, I wouldn’t want to work on your radiator.

1 Like

Who is this “Andy” . . . ?!

But I still don’t understand why you’re giving us this information

:fearful:

My best guess is that the OP doesn’t realize that he is reacting to a radio program that could be as much as 20 years old.

Urea in urine, however degrades into ammonia and CO2 in the presence of moisture and the ammonia is responsible for that diaper hamper smell.

NH2-CO-NH2 + H2O → 2(NH3) + CO2

However, the coolant in a car likely gets hot enough to destroy the bacteria that degrade urea to ammonia.

I was responding to this weeks Car Talk episode as heard on the website under “This Week on Car Talk”. Episode #1640: Desperate Times, Desperate Fluids. Origional Air Date 10.01.2016.

I didn’t think I’d have to spell out this information, but it’s the headliner discussion for this week’s Car Talk.

“This week on The Best of Car Talk, Andy’s car overheated in the desert. With no water on hand, his girlfriend convinced him to use the only liquid available. We’re bordering on TMI here, so we’ll just say that Andy is now worried about said liquid’s acid causing corrosion.”

1 Like

The caller’s question was never actually answered because Click and Clack didn’t know how acidic urine was. I was adding some clarification…

1 Like