Deionized water for coolant? Good idea?

I work in a lab and can get deionized water. Any real advantage to using this in the cooling system? I realize most use it for batteries but I was wondering if limiting the salts would reduce corrosion in the radiator. On the other hand, perhaps manufacturers factor in the salts for the performance of their products?

Maybe a minor help, but my understanding is that most deposits in cooling systems result from corrosion/chemical reactions within the engine, not from the minerals in the water. Couldn’t hurt, though.

With great respect to Texases, many water suppies contain things that while perfectly safe to drink can cause corrosion in cooling systems, as well as minerals that can build up in cooling systems. I’ve even had well water eat completely through brand new copper pipes in 10 years. I had 16 pinhole leaks with patches when I replumbed my house in Litchfield.

But I thing you’re confusing deionized water with distilled water. Distilled water can be purchased at any grocery store for about $1/gallon, and the distillation process removes all the thing sthat can cause problems with your cooling system including the salts and minerals. I recommend the use of only distilled water in cooling systems .

• correction made to the location in the post of “including salts and minerals”. Doggoned computer originally put the words in the wrong place!

Hi MountainBiker

If I confused deionized with distilled water, my chemistry PhD advisor back at Columbia would be very disappointed. We use deionized water in our lab work since it is easier to prepare in bulk, but both are largely devoid of impurities of all types. I ask since I can fill up all the jugs I want in the lab for the car.

I agree with you that water supplies around the US vary greatly. Our city water isn’t bad but why put in magnesium and calcium salts it not needed?