Dear Car Talk column about sensors on a car grill

Re: Your very recent article regarding the sensor mounted on the car grill reminded me to send this message.
I am an AARP Driver Safety (CT)Instructor/Carfit Event Coordinator and other AARP related programs. Question came up in a class.
Imagined situation: Driving South on Route 91, driver is maintaining the accepted 3 seconds behind the car in front. Cruise control, Lane departure and Forward Collision systems are engaged. Another car enters Rt 91 using a merge lane from right and merges into your lane between you and the car you were following….Distances between cars are now temporarily changed and closer. Suddenly the car in front dramatically attempts to stop forward motion. Forward Collision system brakes your car. Car following you at the usual “tail gating” distance of 10 feet, slams into your rear in part because the rear braking light isn’t activated by the auto braking system…or is it? ( I can’t observe the tail light operation while driving my own 2016 Subaru Outback.) There is a presumption the light does go on but I couldn’t reliably speak to the challenge. (I checked with the UCONN professor in charge of autonomous car development and he made the same presumption but also wasn’t absolutely sure.)

On this site many people here will not know which article you are referring to . This is probably rude but as an instructor should you not contact someone to have the answer to the question about the brake lights. According to Mr. Google yes the brake lights will activate when the collision avoidance system applies the brakes.

1 Like

Well, the two of you could hsve answered the question by going out to your car and having one person drive at something big enough to activate the brakes and the other person observing.

I believe this is the column in question.

1 Like