Cranks but won't start 94 chevy

My 94 Chevy cavalier just recently moved with me from north Carolina to west Virginia. A couple weeks after I got here I started having trouble with it starting, a couple weeks after that my serpentine belt broke, got that fixed immediately. Its been a couple months since then. I have been able to start the car the whole time but it was very hard, putting the gas all the way to the floor and all that. The car hasn’t started in two weeks, I took it to the mechanic. He said the oil had gas and anti freeze in it and the spark plugs were dirty. He checked the compression and it was fine, so I’m stumped. The car had a hard idle when it did start but drove like a dream, there might have been a slight change in gas mileage but not crazy, never over heated til the serpentine belt broke but I shut it off before it got to hot. I do have a brand new head gasket, radiator, and new battery, before all this happened. Somebody help!

I’m no expert, but doesn’t that indicate a bad head gasket? Perhaps your “new head gasket” is defective or installed incorrectly?

It’s sort of unusual to need to replace a head gasket except for a reason, like it overheated at some point in the past. If that was your motivation to replace it, along w/the radiator, I expect the past overheating event is what is now causing your problem. Compression could be fine but maybe there’s a little coolant now entering the cylinders and putting the fire out. If so, you’ll have to fix that problem, which probably means another head gasket job. A head gasket job isn’t just replacing the head gasket btw, usually involves machine shop work on the head too. And checking the flatness of the block mating surface.