Cranking But Not Starting in Coldish Weather

Hi Friends,
I am a blossoming home mechanic but know very little about cars. Just started doing my own repairs this last year on my 2005 Toyota Corolla. I just moved and no longer have a garage to keep my car warm. Every time it gets below 35 degrees Fahrenheit the car takes a lot of cranking to get started. I replaced the battery. Went to try to start again and my starter died. Got the car to start by wacking the starter. I replaced the starter successfully and went to start the car this morning. It was 34 degrees and it took about 5 minutes of cranking to get started. It has no problem starting above 37 degrees. What would cause this problem? What can I do to diagnose at this point? I don’t know what to do know and Google is failing me. I hope some one may be able to help.

The next time you know that the engine is going to be hard to start, turn the ignition switch on so the dash lights come on for two seconds, and then turn the ignition switch off.

Repeat this a dozen times and then try starting the engine.

If the engine starts right up, the problem is with the anti drain back valve on the fuel pump assembly.

Tester

1 Like

Should start right up at those temperatures.
How many miles? Have the correct spark plugs been installed at the specified interval?
If the cranking is sluggish, do you have the correct oil?
Bad gas?

Here is my 2 cents…
Since you replaced the battery and starter, there shouldn’t be any trouble with those two. Assuming that the starter is getting enough current to crank the engine, at high temperatures, the starter is able to get the job done and unable to do so at low temperatures. There must be more resistance in starting the engine at low temperatures.
Do you have the right viscosity engine oil?

Maybe an oil change might help. Maybe some of the experienced folks on this forum can comment on this.

Just for my own knowledge, wouldn’t that affect warm weather starting too?

No.

Tester