Copper versus Platinum, Iridium, all the other iums . .

This spring I plan on changing out the spark plugs for my 04 Dakota 3.7L. My grandfather was the previous owner and I can’t ask him what he put in there, he passed away, and I couldn’t find any records he kept to show what type is in there.

I have read that many recommend putting in the copper tip plugs into that specific engine. I have never used copper tip plugs before and my good ol repair guide for the Dakota/Durango doesn’t recommend anything.

Anyone have any experience they wish to share or what you would recommend?

Tester

Look in the manual, or find one online.

Go with whatever is listed in there. Don’t try to “upgrade” or “enhance” or spend more money for “hotter” plugs. It will do you no good, unless your goal is to empty your wallet.

Trying to use something other than what the manual specifies opens the door to weird problems later. OEM is the safest route.

4 Likes

The online Dodge owners manual says:

“Check the Vehicle Emissions
Control Information label for the proper type of spark
plug for your vehicle”

So that information is sitting in your engine compartment.

3 Likes

Mopar says this for the '04 3.7L: 2002-2012 Mopar Spark Plug SPZFR6F11G | MOPAR Parts On Sale

It’s always best to use exact OEM replacement.

1 Like

You can use aftermarket plugs as long as they meet the specifications of the OEM plug. You can even upgrade to a newer platinum or iridium plug that meets the OEM specs. The important thing is that all the plugs are the same.

The updated plugs may have a different impedance that they present to the coil, and therefore fire at a different voltage. If the voltage difference between the plugs is very high, then the computer will see that as a misfire.