Sedan + trailer or small pickup truck?

Hello brilliant, skilled, and helpful people,

My 1999 Honda Odessey is now permanently broken, which is very sad. I am an artist and used that vehicle as a sort of enclosed pickup truck (perfect in rainy Seattle), for hauling around props, plywood, etc. I now need to get a different vehicle. With gas prices on the rise, I’m torn between a sedan with a trailer, or a small pickup.

What do you recommend?

Is there a small sedan that will help me save $ on gas, but still be capable of hauling around a buncha plywood and so on?

Or do I need to get a small pickup?

Thank you, oh wise ones!

-jenny

Dealing with a trailer can be a big pain in the @ss…A 4 or small 6 cylinder pick-up with a topper makes for a low-cost utility vehicle.

Most sedans aren’t meant to tow trailers.

If you loved your Odessey, why not get a newer one?
A few car makers still produce minivans that you could try out.

What about a Dodge Sprinter? You can get a 2005 for $15,000 and mileage will be better than the Odyssey. It’s a tall van and probably won’t fit in a garage. It will carry everything you need and then some. It is available as either a passenger van or cargo van.

Used police cruisers make pretty good tow vehicles if you don’t tow too much, but they aren’t what I would call fuel efficient. I think you should either buy a Sienna, another Odyssey, or a used police cruiser.

Basically, you need to choose between fuel economy and towing capacity. You can’t have both.