Clutch-Itis!

I purchased a 1989 Jeep Comanche from my son for $600.00. I thought I was getting a good deal when he told me it only needed a battery. $1700.00 in parts later I am finding even more issues. Now the transmission is acting up. It is very hard to get it into gear. It has a hydrolic clutch - fluid is fine, etc. But when you start it, it is nearly impossible to put it in gear, and the truck seems to want to move some when you try to put it in 1st or reverse. It does make a grinding sound as well, but only when you try to shift at a dead stop. However, when the engine is off, it seems to shift into gear just fine. I have never worked on a transmission before. Is this the cluth assembly, or throw out bearing? Or maybe something else?

It sounds like the clutch master cylinder is leaking internally. When this happens, when the clutch pedal is depressed the leaking seals inside the master cylinder doesn’t allow hydraulic pressure to be produced to operate the slave cylinder. Thereby preventing the clutch from disengaging.

When a clutch master cylinder fails in this manner, it’s a good idea to replace the slave cylinder also. As it’s probably as worn as the master cylinder.

Tester

When was the oil in the transmission last changed? If you haven’t changed it, you might be driving around with the original transmission oil, in which case, the transmission is probably toast.

My Dad seems to think it could be the throw out bearing as well. Or a combination of all. Everything was fine, but it gradually got harder to put it in gear. I have been looking hard for leaks. I may just replace the clutch master cylinder in hopes of not having to drop the trans. Also - Dad said there was a nylon bushing connecting the clutch pedal to the armature for the clutch. Where can I buy new ones? I made sure the fluid was full, and have depressed the pedal over and over … I cannot find any leaks and the fluid lvl is not dropping.