Cloudy INSIDE the car

So, I was just listening to today’s archived show and heard the frustration in Andrea’s voice - she also has a Honda that has an extraordinary amount of moisture inside her car which makes it so cloudy, it is hard to see. In the last few weeks of extreme cold, the moisture has actually frozen inside even though the defroster is on full blast, and both the fresh air and recirculate settings have been tried. Please note: I am a middle-age driver and have owned many cars - most of them Hondas, however this is my first (and likely last!) Honda Fit. This is absolutely the first time I have experienced this problem to this extent. Can there be another reason that this particular car has so much internal moisture? A leak, a seal, something? PS - I do not enter the car soaking wet or practice heavy breathing while driving!

@Ridia1

I’ll say right now I didn’t listen to today’s archived show

Anyways, do you have a sticky film on the front windshield?

If you do, your heater core’s leaking

If it’s just condensation, here’s a possibility

The front windshield needs to be resealed . . . that is, removed, resealed, and reinstalled

You need to put the HVAC system into “fresh air” mode and leave it there. It may take some time to dry things out. Leave the windows open a little when you park it for the night to encourage the process.

As db4690 said, if there’s no greasy/sticky film on the windshield, the moisture is from rainwater getting in from the outside. And there are many places it can leak from in addition to bad windshield seals. I’ve had water come through the firewall where body panels were improperly sealed, and through a pinhole in the roof gutter sealant.

After a rain check your floor carpets for wetness to see if you can find where it’s coming in. Then peel back carpets and remove plastic panels and trim if necessary. Unfortunately leaks like these can be extremely difficult to track down. But it can be done with persistence.