Chevy Prizm noisy wheel

I have a 1999 Chevy Geo Prizm a.k.a. Toyota Corolla. I am new to car ownership and don’t know much about maintenance yet, so I am worried about getting fleeced when I take my car in for repairs.

Recently, the back right wheel has started making a soft “wumm wumm wumm” noise when the car is in motion. The faster I drive, the more the noise speeds up, so it seems like something is coming loose or out of alignment. I’ve driven over a fair number of potholes in the last couple of months, and while I don’t remember any particularly gnarly ones, I imagine that’s what has caused the problem.

Any guesses as to what might be going wrong, how dire it is, and what I should expect to hear from the mechanic when I take it in?

A big big thanks in advance!

There are probably only two possibilities:

A bad wheel bearing
or
A tire with an internal defect

Either of these issues could be the result of driving on bad roads, and–more importantly–both possibilities are safety issues, so you need to get this attended to promptly before an accident takes place.

My advice is to AVOID all chain operations like Midas, Meineke, Monro, Sears, Pep Boys or (shudder…) AAMCO, and to go to a local independent shop that has a good reputation. Ask friends, neighbors, relatives, and co-workers for recommendations, or use the Mechanics Files link at the top of this page for recommended mechanics in your zip code.

Let me add to @VDC’s good suggestions, the rear brake drum. I love these cars but they are susceotable to brake noise, front and rear.

A balky parking brake cable and an irregular drag in a slightly out of round drum could cause it too. A Worn or dragging shoe as well can be looked at. Regardless, get it fixed.

They are great cars when they don’t rust. I am jealous I still don’t have mine. My suggestion (parking brake part) may be easier to fix ( lube the cable and linkage and spring) @VDC’s perhaps the real cause is more expensive.