Chevy Cruze clutch worn out at 15,000 miles! Tips for longer lasting clutch?

I bought a brand new Chevy Cruze and the clutch burned out at 15000 miles. This isn’t my first stick, and I’m not driving it around town like I’m a race car driver. I put the car in neutral when sitting at a light, in fact I put it in neutral sometimes before I’m getting ready to shift. I don’t ride the clutch, at least I don’t think I do. Either way, this isn’t something I imagined needing replaced this early in the game. Can anyone provide me with just the best Clutch 101 tips to prolonging the life of my clutch? Maybe I’m missing something. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

I think one of the worst things a driver can do to a clutch is rest your foot on the clutch petal between gears. This practice is pretty common and this “resting” actually reduces the pressure on the clutch disk, so the clutch slips and the result is extra wear on the clutch.

Next worst practice is “hill holding” by using the clutch and gas to hold the car on a hill instead of putting your foot on the brakes. Some drivers do this to be ready to go when the light changes, but the clutch wear is very significant.

If the OP is doing either or the above, stop for the sake of your clutch.

I usually get well over 100K on my clutches but I’ve never owned a Chevy Cruze. I would opt for the heavy duty clutch when replacing it. The clutch should give some indication of the problem when it’s taken apart. Ask your mechanic for the possible cause in determining any fault.

UPDATE. Hopefully Chevrolet will replace your clutch as a good will gesture. I checked some Chevy Cruze enthusiast pages and it seems there are a lot of Chevy Cruze clutches failing in the 10K-20K range. You might want to let your dealer know this. I’m sure they already do but it’s nice to have it on record.

1 Like

I’m nearing 60,000 on mine, with no problems. Crossing my fingers I didn’t just hex myself.