Chevy 229 stroker build

I have a 1981 malibu classic 2 door with a 3.8 229 stock engine transmission is unknown. I have decided to do a stroker build as this engine only has 56,000 miles on it but I have never done this before so could someone please help provide me with tips and a parts list ( I can’t find anything on 229 strokers ) thanks.

That’s because there isn’t any

There is for the Buick 3.8 231, but that’s a totally different engine, no parts interchange.

Replacing the 229 with a 4.3 L engine is an economical improvement, many were built. Most people replace the old 6 with a V8.

Just because it is named a Malibu Classic does not mean it is a classic. 81 is in the terrible smog years, unless you live some place with no emissions inspection, don’t even think about modifying the engine. If you don’t have inspections, I would see in a late model Chevy pickup 4.3 V6 wi=ould fit. Over 300 hp and good fuel economy.

Even if there were parts to build a 229 stroker (there aren’t) you would still have issues with the 200 transmission. We used to call those the cellophane transmission…because they were so weak. They won’t stand up behind a decent 4.3 V6 either.

Bite the bullet and swap both… or leave it alone.

1 Like

My sis had a 77 Buick Apollo w/3.8 and auto trans. What a slug. Had to be identical to this Chevy. Identical as in low tech. Carb motor. 3 spd weak auto trans. Gutless combo.
81-82 had the E2ME carb though.

No it was not identical. It was a Buick 3.8 liter V6. Similar but not identical.

1 Like

Personally I would be more impressed if this Malibu ( Classic ? ) was put in show room condition just as it is and a few cosmetic touches.

LS swap with a 4l60 trans. Or leave it stock. Those are my two votes. Not that anyone asked :grin:

1 Like