Check Engine Light

I have a 2004 Chevy Monte Carlo LS. It has 138000 miles on it. The Check the engine light just came on. What could be the problem?

Most auto parts stores (Auto Zone, Advance, Pep Boys, etc) will tell you for free. They hook up a computer device which gives codes that say “P1234” for example. Post them back here (the codes, not the english explanations) and the experts can help you. I am no expert but have learned a lot from others on this site.

“The Check the engine light just came on. What could be the problem?”

That is the automotive equivalent of saying to your doctor, “I have a pain in my body. What is wrong with me?”

Just as the possibilities for a human diagnosis are almost endless, given the lack of specificity, the possibilities for an automotive diagnosis cover perhaps several hundred possibilities.

As was already suggested, the first step is to get the car’s OBD system scanned for stored trouble codes. Then, if you come back to this thread and post the codes (in the format of P0123), we can likely give you some specific advice, based on the code(s).

The CEL is an early warning system. There are many possible reasons the light has come on. Too many to list here. If you have a mechanic with whom you deal on a regular basis, take the car to him or her.

You can also go to just about any auto parts store and they will scan the computer for you. Then you’ll have a trouble code, which may or may not mean much to you.

Trouble codes DO NOT say, “replace component x,” or anything similar. All they do is give your mechanic a place to start looking and testing.

If you don’t have an independent mechanic with whom you deal on a regular basis, now is the time to find one.