Center diff and icy roads

On the last Cartalk a lady had I think a Rav4, or similar. She had to come down an icy road, and was told that locking the center diff is seriously bad under these circumstances. Unlike our guys I’m no mechanic, but I thought locking the center diff sent power equally to both axles, making the car a true 4WD. The individual wheels on each axle would still spin according to available traction, but one end would not recieve all of the power. Isn’t this the idea when using a 4WD or AWD on slick surfaces, rather than letting one slipping wheel take up all the power? I thought that’s why these vehicles had a center diff, so they could function as 4WD when necessary, and 2WD at other times. Did C & C get a locking axle diff mixed up with a locking center diff? After all, automatic Rav4s and similar vehicles automatically lock the center diff in slippery conditions to send power to both ends; it’s only in manuals that you have a locking diff to achieve, I thought, the same end.

If you were stuck on ice going uphill you might want to lock the center differential but going downhill wouldn’t accomplish anything good. Best to just take their word for it and stop the reasoning process. You could go the other way and assume that they don’t really know.

Neither 4WD and AWD do much of anything to keep you safe. They both may help you get back on the road after you slide off, but they do zip or less at keeping you from sliding off to begin with. They also don’t help you stop on the ice or snow.

Under some conditions some versions can cause wheels to spin that can increase your chances of loosing control and sliding into something or off the road.

In short, you are likely safer in without AWD or 4WD in the snow and ice, but not by much. You are likely a little more likely to get were you are going however.