Celica A/C

I recently purchased a 1992 Toyota Celica. The A/C was not working when I purchased it. I am a proficient residential A/C mechanic, however, I know only a little about car A/C’s. I put a set of gauges on the system. When I turn on the A/C, the compressor clutch clicks and in the blower starts. The suction pressure begins to drop to about 30 lbs, the high side increases to about 160 lbs. (R134 Freon) The compressor runs for almost 5 seconds then drops out. The dash indicator light for the A/C then begins to flash in one-second intervals. If I shut it off for a few minutes, it will re-start and repeat this process. Any clue?

When checking the high/low side pressures of an automotive A/C system, the engine idle speed should be at about 2,000 RPM’s with a large fan blowing at the condenser at the front of the vehicle. Because the system was converted from R12 to R134a refrigerant, you can’t go by the standard spec’s when the system had R12 because R134a runs at a higher pressure. So what is done is install a thermometer into one of the outlet vents, and charge the system until you get a temperature reading of 40-50 degrees out of the vent and call it good.

Tester

Thank you for responding. My problem is that the compressor clutch will not remain engaged long enough to charge the system. It engages for 5 seconds and drops out. There must be some type of sensor or something cutting the compressor off. I have tried jumping out the low pressure switch - no difference. It still engages for 5 seconds and drops out??? One person told me the system may have a restriction somewhere and the high side is getting too high and shutting it off. I am out of ideas.

How cold is it where you are? Some car A/C’s (many/all?) will cut out if it’s too cold to prevent damage or freezing of the lines.

South Louisiana. 70’s - 80’s when we were working on it.

Well, so much for my theory… :slight_smile:

Sounds like you have an electrical problem.