Catalytic Converter Replacement

'95 Chevy S-10 4x4 4.3 V6 TBI. I posted before about having the hanger break off the converter pipe causing my muffler pipe to crack from fatigue. I’ve given up on just replacing the pipe hanger. There’s no clamp-on hangers available that fit and if I rig it with wire, I know it won’t hold up long. I’m going to just replace the converter along with the whole exhaust.

I’ve never done this before. The converter is welded on so I have to cut it off. I can buy a direct fit converter from Rock Auto for $150. Is it possible to cut the pipe with a hacksaw or am I nuts? And does the new direct fit converter clamp over the existing pipe or does it have to be welded? I am clueless about how the new converter goes on.

Thanks for any help.

Anybody have any experience replacing converters out there?

The converter should be removable without cutting. There shoud be flanges front and rear. It’s possible someone in the past went to Midas, who is known to weld the components together.

I wouldn’t try to cut the pipe without a cutting wheel. A hacksaw would be an excercise in exhausting frustration.

A direct fit replacement will not clamp over the existing pipe. You can, however, install a clamp on fitting designed to mate two flangeless pipes…if you have sufficient free length on the system.

The front is welded on with no flange, it just has a rear flange. I’ve had it since new, so this is how it came from the factory. I guess I’ll have to pay someone to install the converter. I’m trying to fix this as cheap as possible as money is tight at the moment. The truck is in nice shape though and I’d like it done right so the exhaust will hold up without any future headaches.