Car shopping: need help please

Hi

My name is Josh and I am a college student looking to buy an excellent Used car!

Please note: I am only interested in the following 3 Cars

They are USED from 1998 - 2001 car Models

I am having difficulties deciding which one is the Best in terms of RELIABILITY, SAFETY and LONGEVITY

The 3 Cars: BMW 3 Series 1997 - 1999; LEXUS LS 1997 - 1999; and VOLVO s40, or VOLVO s 80 - 1999 - 2001

What I would like please is a recommendation and your opinions on these 3 Cars ??

Thank you for your time, Josh M : )

I hate to be a buzzkill Josh but none of those cars are a great choice for a college student (unless you have a trust fund). Being luxury cars repairs and maitance will be very expensive.

Hi

I have taken this into consideration. This is not about me being a student this is about me and I will buy one of these 3 Cars and I do need a recommendation please !

Thank You , Josh

All nice cars, and all are on the pricey side to maintain and repair.

This is not a scientific based answer but here’s how I’d rank them.

1. Lexus
  2. BMW
  3. Volvo

Of these 3 choices I believe the Volvo’s would be much more expensive in the age and mileage range you are considering. I’d just flat out drop Volvo from consideration. Of the other 2 it depends on how well the car passes a pre-inspection by a qualified mechanic. Cars this age have a lot of “unknown’s” regarding their past service history. The more you can find out and document a good service history the better.

If you can handle manual transmissions I’d recommend a stick. An auto transmission in these cars is very expensive to repair, rebuild, or replace.

This recommendation has nothing to do with you being a college student. My feeling about Volvo’s is based on spending lots of money on a '98 an '00 "Volvo which is more normal than unique.

Josh; you are asking for OUR ADVICE and you are only considering three cars?

Some questions first:

1. Are you a WEALTHY college stduent?