Car hesitates after first starting it

So my 05 Neon with about 78.000 miles is freaking me out lately. Whenever I ahve to stop for a while ( e.g. red light ) shortly after starting my car it “hesitates” and kind fo buckles. It feels as if it was going to die. I sometimes even have to turn it off and back on to get it to move at all. My check engine light was on there for a while and I has our automotive department at work ( I work in retail ) look at it and they said it was just a sensor, nothing else. A friend told me to let it warm up in the morning and I realized that if I lety iut running for about 10 minutes it drives fine. Today I only let it run for about 3 minutes in the morning and at night aftre work and the car barely moved at first and I thought I wouldn’t make it home at all. As soon as I was driving for a while it was fine again, though. So is it normal that it does that? My check engine light wnet on again tonight also. I am confused =( BTW sorry for all the questions, but it’s my first car and my hubby is deployed so I have no clue…

“…they said it was just a sensor.”! Well, that, “…just a sensor”, could be key to “…just finding what’s wrong with your car”. Get the code (P0xxx), and bring it here for advice.