Car for daughter

My daughter will become a new driver this next June. I hope a small part time job comes with it (but that’s another issue). I want to get her a used car that will be durable and reliable, plus not be a gas guzzler. 3 - 6 thousand in price range. What is your expert recommendation?

I’m no expert, but in my experience, Nissan and GM are the best value when it comes to cars.

“I want to get her a used car that will be durable and reliable…”

Don’t we all! Truthfully, any recent compact or midsize sedan will serve your purpose and will work out quite well. Worry less about make/model than about determining the mechanical condition of your potential buy. The recommended course of action is to bring the candidate to a mechanic who will inspect and recommend needed work, if any. And understand it is perfectly normal for a used car to need something, be it brake pads, tires, radio, or whatever. It may still be the ideal car for her.

your responses are greatly appreciated. Great info. Thanks

I agree, make/model is not that important for a kiddy car. It will get pretty beat up anyway, so just buy something relatively cheap and mechanically solid. You should be able to find something decent in the $3-6000 range.

Get her a good Volvo 240 or 740. They are too slow to race and will withstand a huge wallop without your daughter getting hurt.

The Volvo will likely cost more to maintain than something like a Ford Focus(after '01) or even a Crown Vic.

All cars can go fast, just some get there quicker than others.