Can't start my car

My car won’t start, and I hope I can get some clues as to what might be the problem before I call a tow truck/trek out to a gas station/set it on fire:

The starter turns, and it’ll go wah-wah-wah-GRNNG-wah-wah-GRNNG-wah-wah-GRNNG-wah-wah, etc. This started when I was trying to get to Thanksgiving dinner, and I haven’t been able to drive since. It doesn’t seem to be a battery issue, because I have one of those portable jumping batteries and that didn’t help. I wonder if it had something to do with the sub-zero temperature that day (I just moved to Ohio from California last year, and don’t know anything about keeping my car running in cold weather), but I tried starting it again this week when it was 10 degrees Celsius out and still no dice. I was also kind of low on fuel the last time the car moved.

What might be going on and what should I do? I’m a broke student in the middle of exams and it’s freezing out, so I can’t really experiment to figure it out. It’s a 1994 BMW 5-series.

Probably the first thing to do is make sure your coolant has freezing protection to the lowest temp encountered in your climate. While it was in Calif it might have been diluted during some repair or another, and still be ok, but not ok in Ohio. Suggest to get on that tout de suite, as severe engine damage could result. Second would be to put in 5 gallons of gas, so as to eliminate lack of gas as a possibility (I was a broke college student one time too!). If neither solves the problem, you likely have a fuel or spark problem. You need a mechanic to run some basic tests on the ignition and fuel systems to decide which it is.

Get a can of starting fluid, follow directions, if it kicks, go for heet, seafome or techron etc.,