Can you buy a used car without visiting the dealer?

I’m shopping around for used car at the moment and a few of the cars I’ve been looking at would take multiple hours to drive to. I’d prefer to have the option of completing the transaction completely by phone, email, and snail mail, then having the car shipped to me. Has anyone heard of this being done before?

No. But I have some ocean front property in Arizona that’s available and the price is right.

I am not a mechanic, but it seems to me not a wise decision. If there are really extenuating circumstances that you cannot get to the place, have you run the vin numbers on Carfax? Talked to the previous owners? Seen pictures of them? checked out the record of the dealership? explored the warranties for that business.

In a world where people fail to maintain their cars properly and then sell or trade them, in a world where people conceal serious accident damage and then sell or trade their cars, and in a world where flood-damaged cars are given some cosmetic clean-up before being sold as pristine, undamaged cars, I think that the OP would be extremely foolish to buy a used car sight-unseen.

Perhaps the OP feels differently, and–if so–that is his right.
It is also his right to be cheated by failing to exercise normal, intelligent due diligence prior to buying a used car.

If the OP is not familiar with the old saying about “Buying a Pig in a Poke”, then he might want to spend a little time Googling it and learning what that expression means.

I would not buy a car that I have not driven and inspected or that at least has been driven and inspected by someone you trust. Buying anything used sight-unseen is a risky proposition.