Can my car survive harsh winters?

Okay, so there’s a large possibility that I will be moving to the state of Maine next year. Being from Arizona, I have no experience with real winter weather or driving in the snow.

I have heard that my car may not be up for Maine winters, which are some of the worst in the country. I have a small, 2006 Scion XA hatchback with front wheel drive.I’ve been told that my car is too light, too low, and too wimpy to be reliable in a Maine winter. But I have also been told that my car will be fine if I drive slowly and carry sandbags.

Should I trade in my car for an SUV with 4 or all wheel drive to be safe, or can my car survive winters? Being that I’ve never driven in the snow before, I would feel more comfortable in a bigger, stronger car. But whats the bottom line?

First it depends on where in Maine…big difference in weather between Fort Kent and Kittery. As long as the roads are plowed you should be fine. You could get 4 winter tires if necessary.

I’ll be in Bridgton, Maine.

Perhaps you start by better describing what you mean when you ask “can my car survive” this makes no sense as your car is not alive.

Of course you know not to try and drive into the teeth of a fierce storm? Think of a Manine winter like a AZ monsoon season, you don’t drive during extreme conditions.

I have heard that my car may not be up for Maine winters BS . How is your car different than any other Scion? Surly there are lots of Scions in Maine.