Can I sell the salvaged car I've been driving for 3 years?

My car was totaled back in January 2010, I chose to retain it and have been driving it for the last three years with no significant problems. Now I want to get rid of it and am wondering if I can sell it (for example, on CL)?

The accident that totalled the car never made it undrivable - it took out the tail light and created some body damage - which on a late 90’s Nissan Sentra is enough to merit totalling the car. I’ve had some repairs as well as routine maintanence done on it and it runs as well as can be expected at 15 years old and 150k miles.

Here’s the tricky part: I’ve since moved to a different state and have registered it here. It passed inspection and there’s no indication of salvage on the new title. (I can’t reference the old title because I had to surrender it.)

Can I sell this to a private party? I would feel morally obligated to tell the buyer about the car’s history, but legally what do I have to do? Is it reasonable to expect that anyone would want to buy it for much more than salvage value (which is around $300)?

Any insight on this is much appreciated! Thanks.

The worth of anything is the agreed upon value between a willing seller and a willing buyer, in other words you can sell it for whatever the market will bear. If you plan on disclosing the accident, you should do that before the buyer makes an offer, that way they are a willing and informed buyer.

Run a CarFax report on your car. It likely will reveal the salvage title that was issued in another state. This means you should reveal the status of the previous title since it would be easily discovered and you don’t want someone coming back to you crying “foul”.