Can I disable the catalytic converter sensor on my wife's car?

My wife’s car has the check engine light on and she was told by her mechanic that it was the catalytic converter going out, to ignore it. I am thinking that I ought to be able to build a jumper for the sensor and fool it into thinking that it is working, reset the check engine light and wait till it starts to fall apart before replacing it. I’m tired of driving with the check engine light on, maybe missing something else that needs attention rather than the cat. it has 140k on this car but is in great condition. I am a diesel mechanic, no real experience with gas vehicles in a long time. oh, and we just got married. Or maybe I just ought to stay late at work and get this thing up on the rack and look into it. Put the scope on it myself??

Maybe I ought to call in. T and R would have fun with this call!

Nope, that sensor keeps your engine running correctly. And I question the mechanic saying the cat’s bad, it could just as easily be one of the oxygen sensors not working correctly. Have they been replaced?

My wife says no. Where would you start with this? I’ll have to look at the scope we have at work and see if we have anything that will hook up to this car. I’m used to Cummins and Cat but not GM.

Since the light is on except when there is no problem, your only option for getting rid of the light is some black tape over the lamp. The problem with that and with ignoring the light is that you will never know when it is telling you of a more serious pending problem that could become more serious.

Frankly why just put it off. You could just fix it.

Note: the legal issue varies from one state to another so advice you are given may well work in the state the advice giver is from but not maybe your home state.