Camry no longer accelerates in any gear-?

Toyota Camry 2000 , 195,000 miles

Last couple of months or so, my vehicle would intermittently stop accelerating, especially when climbing hills. A couple of days ago, the vehicle is completely unresponsive when pressing down on the gas. The vehicle revs, but won’t go forward. It will only go in reverse. Everything else is working in the vehicle.

I went ahead and put about a half quart of transmission fluid. Still nothing.

Other information: the vehicle has been leaking engine oil and transmission fluid for the last several months.

I am an amateur with cars. Any advice or guidance would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Remove the transmission fluid dip stick, and place some of the transmission fluid from the dip stick onto a white paper towel.

Compare the color of the transmission fluid to this chart.

http://myautomatictransmission.com/how-to-check-condition-of-atf.htm

Tester

Thank you Tester.

I will do this tomorrow when I get home from work.

Is there anyway to tell how much I’m looking at ball park for a repair? Could it be a simple, inexpensive fix? Or is that improbable?

The reason I ask is that I am trying to decide whether to have this towed to a junkyard or fix the transmission and sell.

Short of actually having a mechanic actually look at and touch the car, there is no way for you to know if this is a $100 or a $3000 fix. It may be totally unrelated to the transmission. Another post, maybe even one of yours, had a similar complaint. The suggestion was to check the throttle pedal assembly sensor. Far, far cheaper to replace than a transmission.

Is the check engine light on? Is is flashing? Have you had the trouble codes read at your local auto parts store? (if flashing DON"T drive it!) What are the codes?