Cadillac Eldorado and Bar's Leaks products

I have a 1998 Cadillac Eldorado with a Northstar engine. As is common with these cars, I have a cracked head gasket(s). I have read on the cadillacforums website that the liquid repair products may work for some vehicles, but not the Caddy’s because over time the bolts on the aluminum heads separate and no amount of “cure in a can” will seal the problem. I am far from a mechanic (I have trouble changing a light bulb… okay, it isn’t that BAD, but close). The aforementioned forum has a few folks with over 5,000 posts that seem to be authorities on the cars, but I have to wonder if I’m getting straight talk from them and their opinions, or if the Bar’s Leaks Head Gasket Repair product MAY work. I’d LOVE for anyone that has used it on a Cadillac to advise of their success or failure, and any moderator to this site to chime in with their input. It will be highly regarded. Thanks!

I tell people, if you’re going to attempt to get a few more miles out of an engine with an internal coolant leak, instead of spending the $50.00-$70.00 for a product with a fancy name in a fancy bottle, call a local pharmacy and order a bottle of sodium silicate for about $20.00. Sodium silicate is the primary ingredient in those high priced stop-leak products.

Tester

Sodium Silicate is what they dumped in the crankcase of all those “Cash For Clunkers” to positively destroy their engines…In a cooling system, I suspect the water pumps life may be very short indeed at this stuff is VERY abrasive…

"Dealers must replace the oil in the “clunker” with two quarts of sodium silicate solution and run the engine for up to seven minutes, permanently disabling it, according to rules released today by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration in Washington. "