Buying truck

Hi everyone,

I’m looking at a 2007 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad cab with a V8 5.7L HEMI, Automatic, 4x4 with 12,000 miles on it. Looks great, and seems to run good (I’m no mechanic). My only real reservation is I think it was owned by a kid. It had tweeters installed in the door (in the little triangle piece that hides the bolts for the mirrors), they are gone now so there is a couple of 1 to 2 inch holes there, the guy said they are going to probably replace them instead of getting in new door trim. And the back tires are just about bald, has 20" tires also.

Anyone have a thoughts on how much damage someone could do by smoking the tires? I’m assuming that they probably ran it pretty rough. 12,000 miles and bald tires on the back.

And is there any drawback to having 20 inch tires and towing a good size camper?

Thanks

ROb

How good is the price? I would hesitate to buy any vehicle that had obviously been driven recklessly. Take it to a mechanic you trust and have it thoroughly inspected, I would guess the brakes are probably abnormally worn. Look for damage to the bottom of the truck frame, transfer case, exhaust and suspension components, as these kids may have run over things they shouldn’t have. If everything checks out and the price is right, go for it.

I think it seems like a good deal, $19,500. I haven’t been able to find anything else around this area in that comes close. This is there web page http://www.cars.com/forkey/inv.html Just look for the 2007 dodge ram.

They replaced the breaks. I took a look under and didn’t see any dents, scratches or abnormal rust. And it doesn’t look like a receiver has ever been put in the trailer hitch.

$19500 is right at Kelly Blue Book Value private party in Excellent (the best) condition. The ad says that it has new tires, are new tires included in the purchase? If not I’d subtract the cost of new tires minus another $500 and make that my offer. If you have cash you’ll be better off of course.