Buying Advice: 2001 Toyota Tundra SR5

Hi friends,

I’m looking to buy a used truck to replace my 1991 Chevy 1500. I want a nicer truck with more power, more cab room, and reliability. I’m all but settled on a 2001 Toyota Tundra 4.7L V8 with 88,000 miles. It’s 4x4 access cab SR5 with a 4-speed automatic transmission. It looks to be in pretty cherry condition.

I’m no mechanic, but I know a few things to look for, including leaks, torn boots, worn bushings, rust, slipping transmission, etc. This truck looks to be in pretty damn fine shape. No major dents or dings. Good glass. No rust. Interior looks like new. The Carfax checks out: two owners, no reported collisions, no major repairs other than regular maintenance. It’s too old to be certified, but the dealer told me the truck had gone through a rigorous inspection and that they turned the front rotors, replaced the rear rotors, replaced the flare molding on the front wheel wells, and did all the usual inspections and fluid changes.

They’re asking about $13k for it.

That’s a little higher than Kelly Blue Book for that truck in this region (and higher than I was hoping to pay), but it also comes with a very nice fiberglass topper with duel locking handles, spray on bed liner, and they said they “put some money into it” (i.e. flare molding, brakes, etc.).

I took her for a spin and fell in love. Very comfortable, very quiet ride. No noticeable squeals, squeaks, rattles or hums. She accelerated fine and didn’t break a sweat getting up to 80 on the Interstate. Brakes felt solid and no shimmy. Didn’t notice any oddities at all other than a slight drift to the right, but I couldn’t tell if that was from the crown in the road. Mostly it felt like driving a big car rather than a pickup.