Buying a used car

I’d like to buy a 2009-2011 used small suv (I currently drive a 98 rav 4 which I love :slight_smile:
I’m interested in saftey first and gas milage second. I live in Colo… any suggestions? ps, I’m a terrible driver so I need something small, safe and dependable…

Any recent vehicle will be safe.
Side note: A 2~3 year old vehicle might be cost ineffective enough to warrant purchasing a brand new one. i.e. a 2009 Rav4 might be only a couple thousand less than a 2012/13 model with the same options. And you’d be getting brand new tires, battery, etc.

Something small will likely have an anemic engine by normal standards, thow in the elevation changes in Colorado, and you’d be good to consider turbo charged vehicles; note they will usually require premium fuel.

Without a budget, we can’t really throw any suggestions out there

Good advice, Thank you!!!..…
I’d like to spend about $18000. Do you think I should look at an older car?

2009 should still save you quite a bit. If you love your Rav4, that’d be fine. If you’re getting awd, you might also check out a Subaru Forester, we bought a used one for its safety ratings and overall versatility.

I was wondering if there were any v-dub fans or techs out there today: I’m interested in a '97 Jetta GT. 1 problem: it’s a Canadian car, & the current owners say it won’t pass IL. emissions-is it the fact it’s Canadian, which means a different chip and/or connections, or something more, like r & r of the exhaust & sensors. I didn’t have the $29 to “ask an expert”, so here I am. I’d like to know what I’m getting into, should they come back to me & say “make me an offer.” Thanks!

flatout,

If you post this in a new thread, you will get more responses. Look in the upper right of this page. There is a red box with the words “ask a Question” in it. Click on it and rewrite your question.