Buying a reliable (Used) car

I am a teacher who comutes about 2 hours a day on a major interstate. I need to buy a inexpensive, reliable, great milage car. My Honda needs to have the head gasket replaced. I have been having major repairs every month, over $500.00 per month. I don’t know anything about cars.

Get ahold of either the April 2009 Consumer Reports magazine(annual auto issue) or the 2010 Consumer Reports Buyer’s Guide. These publications list automobiles in different price categories that the subscribers to Consumer Reports consider reliable in diffeent price categories. These publications also warn of vehicles that have been unreliable.

After limiting your categories, go on a search for the reliable models. When you spot a good candidate and the car is comfortable for you to drive, have an independent mechanic check the car for problems. The amount charged is a good invetment to avoid a car that may have potential problems.

Finally, set aside $500 or so for repairs that may crop up.

Thank you.
I looked on line on the Consumer report. I featured the HOnda Civic and Honda Accord for the small car as being reliable. The Family car recommended was Toyota Echo, Honda Civic and Toyota Corolla. Are you familiar with any of these types of cars?

I can vouch for Corollas; we have owned two. My wife used to commute similar to yours and the Corollas (manual transmission) suited her needs. The Civic and Accord (and Camry, for that matter) would also suit your needs. I did all the major services (less timing belt and valve lash adjustments) on the Corollas, which made them very economical. Based on CR, you are having far more higher than average issues with the CRV if you are spending $500 per month on maintenance/repair issues.

The Hyundai Elantra is also a good car, and should serve you well.

Civic and Corolla will be good, I’d avoid the Echo, too small for all the hours you’ll put in it.