RIP little Civic... You were an mpg stud!

My '99 Civic, a total trooper, was just about totaled after a very drunk driver decided he didn’t want to be limited by the lane marks on the freeway last Wed night. He hit me at 75, and my little hot wheels car has gone to that big impound lot in the sky. WHAT SHOULD I DO NOW?

I am a student and I drive about 250 miles a week, mostly highway, and fuel efficiency is a priority. I have been investigating USED civics, corollas, and focuses and my budget is 7-10k… does anybody have any suggestions or advice?

Get another Civic or a Corolla. You might also take a look at the Hyundai Elantra. You can get a fairly new, low mileage example within your budget, and it’s about as reliable as the Civic. Just make sure you get one made after 2000 (which shouldn’t be hard.)

Civic all the way!!! Honda’s are the best!!!

If you wait two years, your new car may have some metal that used to be in your other car. Of course, the same can be said for a coffee table. Another Civic would be alright if you can find one.

I agree that the OP’s 7-10k budget would allow him/her to buy a much newer Elantra, rather than a Civic. Is a Civic more reliable? Of course it is, but since a Civic is always more expensive than an Elantra, the OP should be able to buy an Elantra that is at least 2 years newer than a Civic, and this should level the playing field considerably in terms of reliability. The Elantra is essentially just as fuel-efficient as the Civic, and would be a good choice.

If mileage is imporatnt with you, also consider the Hyundai Accent; it comes closest to what you are driving now. In the last 5 years the Accent has been a very good car; great on gas and easy to maintain. For $10,000 you should be able to get a really good model with low miles.