Buying a Camry

I am a first time car buyer and I would like to buy a Camry because it is reliable and I have a 2 month old. I am a teacher so I don’t have too much money. I saw some older Camry’s for around $3500 that have between 90 and 100K miles on them. Is a Camry with this many miles on it still considered reliable, or should I save to buy a newer model? Thanks!

If the Camry was serviced properly then it should easily last 250k + miles. Check the service records.

It’s great to get the service records as Mike suggested. You should also get the car inspected by a mechanic before you buy it. Make sure the mechanic knows that it is a pre-purchase inspection. Expect to pay a couple hundred bucks for a thorough inspection.

At $3500 for a Camry it must be really old. 90k-100k is irrelevant if the vehicle is over 10 years old. Cars not only age by miles but also time. If its older than 10 years look into a newer model.

“I am a teacher so I don’t have too much money.”

I had to laugh at that. My mom’s a trustee on a local school board, and is frequently complaining about teachers complaining they don’t get paid enough… looking at the figures, it seem the teachers in my mom’s board do just fine.

Anyway, back on topic, I would look at a Hyundai Elantra. For your budget, you can get a much newer Elantra than Camry for the same money, and the Elantra will be cheaper to repair when something goes wrong. Also, an Elantra may get better gas mileage.

I don’t know if you can get a new enough Hyundai for the OP’s budget. I’m sure a few years down the line you will be able to, but for that price she might be looking at one from the bad old days of Hyundai.

Are teachers’ salaries better than they were years ago? Without question.

Are teachers overpaid? In order to answer that question, one should first ask himself/herself the following question:

Why are there chronic shortages of people to fill teaching positions, especially in the areas of math and science?