Buy a new car for family

I am trying to get a new car for the family - I almost closed in on subaru outback and signed some papers on the dealership. But with the $29k price tag and wife concerned that she is not comfortable to drive a new car (as a first time driver), I need some recommendations on a used car that I should buy - We are a family of 3 and use the car primarily on the weekend to run some errands. Also, i live in northern nj - how important should AWD be in my consideration?

Go out and test as many new cars you think you may like. After narrowing it down to the top two or three, start looking for a nice 2 - 3 year old used one for half MSRP. Original owner and all service records count for a lot. Don’t forget to get a PPI from a qualified mechanic before purchasing.

Winter tires are far more important than AWD, FWD or RWD. I have been driving RWD BMWs here in Colorado for 40 years without an accident or getting stuck. I put on four real winter tires before the snow flies, All season tire are NOT WINTER TIRES and are really three season tires. AWD has more weight and complexity over 2WD and highly over rated IMO. Everyone drove RWD cars for the first 100 years of the automobile and got by OK. Winters were much harsher back then then in today’s global warming environment.

I feel that the first time driver should take a drivers training class. The concern about the new car will not be much better if you purchase a really nice used car. Front wheel drive and good tires should be enough. Also there are new cars out there for less money and you should look at some since you do not need a daily driver or might not make many long trips.