Built-in electronic infotainment systems in new vehicles

I’d like to talk to people who have driven or own new model cars and trucks equipped with sophisticated electronic systems for phoning, entertainment, navigation, etc. I’d like to hear your experiences in learning to operate these devices while driving. Are they easy or hard to use? Are they safe? I’m a journalist and may write something about this, so if you’re willing please let me know how to get in touch with you. Thanks, Myron Levin, myron.levin@fairwarning.org

A massive distraction AND an ocsolescence nightmare in five years.
Unless you use all the functions every day, you’re not going to remember the menu ques and have to do a lot of fishing.

• OR - reading of the user manual.
    BOTH of which cannot be done while driving, PERIOD.

But you can bet on just how many people will do this anyway with the twisted justification that… “it came with the car, so it must be intended to be done while driving.”

Texting while driving is only the tip of the iceberg.

Then there’s the repair and replacement OBSOLESCENCE nightmare five years down the road.
Possibly just two years away. Obtaining service for malfunctioning units will be a crap-shoot IF you can find anyone who knows any thing at all , even at the dealer. Used cars with no user manual will cause huge headaches as well. Then when the car reaches ten years old, not old as cars go but ancient to electronics, those fancy shmancy do-dads will be near un-useable forever more. Just dead weight.

The built in touch screen GPS/radio controls in my TL aren’t a distraction. As with any knob or widget, if you stare at it while you’re driving, you’re going to get in trouble. As with any knob or widget, responsible use by the driver is assumed - else your piece should also target radios, speedometers, and attractive passengers, as paying too much attention to any of these can cause you to hit a tree.