Breaking this New York City law could cost you up to $2K in just 3 minutes

Make sure your car isn’t left idling for more than 3mins in NY city.

Wow!! And the reasons NOT to go to NY just keep growing and growing… :no_entry_sign:

I know a lot of people love it there, and they can have it, and my niece is one of them, she and family go every year… To each their own…

4 Likes

Let’s see…it’s 20 degrees and there’s 4 inches of snow on my car. But I can’t let it warm up while I clear it to have a functional heater and defroster to be able to see while I’m driving. (unless I’m driving a bus?)

What a stupid law.

7 Likes

That’s nice. My wife and I now have my M-I-L’s Bronx apartment. I’ve been visiting there for 40 years in one of those “alternate side of the street” parking zones. Guess what? They’re not enforced.

There is no gigantic traffic cop force in NYC timing people on their idling. Relax.

That said, it’s not about not being allowed to warm up your car (you know, with the snow on it) for gosh sakes. It’s about sitting around putting out fumes for no good reason. Just shut the damned thing down while you wait. Why is that so weird? Save yourself some gas and everyone else some fumes. More and more cars have that built in.

There is plenty of sense in worrying about reducing street level emissions if possible. But if you go to NYC, don’t worry. There’s no big police force “surveilling” you. Talk about sensationalized B.S.

5 Likes

The residents of New York City want clean air? This must be a hoax. :face_with_monocle:

The Yahoo comments that follow the article show how disconnected people are with local laws, these statutes/ordinances are decades old and found in many cities.

Below is a court appeal against a citation issued June 14, 2000.

2 Likes

Similarly, there is no clandestine police force that will arrest someone who fuels his own vehicle in NJ.