Brakes still making rubbing metal noise!

it started with a flat on passenger side front. Then the guy comes in and says I needed front brakes, he showed me and they were in two pieces on same side. So I bought new brakes for a 93 Mercury SUV and this guy put them on but never took test ride, so when I did the test drive it was still making the rubbing noise, but when I put my brake on it let up, going around cornors it made a squiling noise or going down the road it made the same noise! I had it checked out at Monroe after I put a oil change and that is when they told me he would not check my brakes because of the tires were too bad, so I bought 2 for the front and he said the brakes were on ok but never saw him do what I asked and that was to remove them and check for dirt or ?? look at the rotor, but I have no idea? So please can anyone say what might be wrong! I am not rich but I am a disable vet! oh and a 57 year old granny!!

RE-post in “Car Questions”

Sometimes new pads have to seat.

Or the bad pad may have put a groove in the rotor.