Brake system complexity and safety

I have a 2005 Prius with 132K miles (bought it new). A couple of years ago all the brake warning lights came on. I parked the car for a couple of hours. When I restarted it, no warning lights. No problems since (30K miles). My mechanic scanned the codes and found that there was some sort of problem with the solenoid in the left, front brake.

On PriusChat I see quite a few problems with Prius brake systems. I suspect most are due to the complexity of the software that deals with anti-lock, anti-skid, regenerative braking, etc. Some people claim that they lose braking completely, which is obviously very dangerous.

Do the same problems appear in non-hybrid cars? Although I’ve been happy with my Prius, since non-hybrid cars are getting in the range of 40 MPG, I’m thinking that my next car should be less complex. I do miss shifting gears for myself, which is becoming a lost art. Safety is my main concern.

BTW, I’m a retired software engineer who has designed many software-controlled systems. So it may seem odd that I don’t completely trust them, but I know that all software of this complexity has bugs in it. Mechanical things wear out. Software either works or doesn’t.

"Software either works or doesn’t."

As a software engineer, I’m surprised you would make such a statement. Especially since you pretty much contradict it in the prior sentence saying you expect bugs in complex code. Surely you know that exercising every possible thread in every possible combination along with variable timing conditions makes “it either works or it doesn’t” a tall statement…

If you don’t trust modern technology, Don’t get on a modern airliner. A Boeing 777 has multiple miles of wiring in it, along with complicated software to run it all.

I agree that shifting gears is becoming a lost art.

Brake warning lights are common when a weak/discharged 12V battery sags during the startup cycle.