Brake Rotor - won't come off

I’m a long time car talk listener.

This is the first time I’ve asked for advice.

I have a 2002 Ford Focus which has had a speed-related vibration when I put on the brakes.

I figured the front rotors are warped so I bought 2 new rotors and proceeded replace the old ones.

I removed the brake calipers and all went well - except I can’t get the old rotor off!!!

The last time I serviced the brakes, I put anti-sieze compound between the rotor & hub - just so they would come off easy. But, nooooo.

Since the rotor didn’t come off freely,

I tapped gently on the back of the rotor. Then I pounded with a sledge.

I rotated it and pounded some more.

I made a gear puller to span the rotor, and bent the gear puller bolts.

I heated the rotor & pounded on it some more. I sprayed liquid wrench on it…

This puppy is on there good.

Any Ideas???

Oh, and by the way, yes - I’m an engineer. And no, the check engine light is not on…

Bruce

I don’t suppose these rotors are held in place with a couple of screws, like many Hondas that I’ve worked on? Those are a serious pain to remove…

If persistence and LOTS of PB Blaster don’t get them off, you might have to get a shop to do it. No sense risking damage to the area around the rotors.

Most rotors have a threaded hole that you can screw a bolt into to pull the rotor off. Usually 2 holes. Crank them equally a half turn at a time an after a every full turn tap the side of the hat with a hammer around the circumference to vibrate it a little then tighten the bolts again. That usually works for me

Nope, no screws. It is held on by the lug nuts.
(and rust). Anti-seize compound didn’t help. I’m going to use Marine wheel bearing grease next time.

Tapped holes are a great idea. These rotors don’t have them, though. Maybe I should drill & tap my new ones before I put them on.