Blonde + SRT-4 (Dodge Neon) = Calamity

This is my first posting…

I (stupidly) bought an '04 Dodge Neon SRT-4 that the previous owner had modified. The dealer of course assured me that it was not modded and I am not a mechanic so I couldn’t tell the difference.

Anyway, does anyone have any advice as to how I can teach myself about turbo engines and their maintenance and modifications?

I may be a girl, but I can at least change out a radiator, belts, and other basics. Thanks!!

What is wrong with it?
Only thing with a turbo is to let it idle for 1-2 minutes before you shut it off.
Have you found out what all was changed?
We need more info.

I don’t know of any modern turbo engine that requires 1-2 minutes of cool down before idle after normal driving. This is true of turbo engines of the 80’s. If you track or race the car your advice is solid otherwise old wives(mechanics) tales dating back to the 80’s.

To OP, If you are not running into problems don’t worry about the engine. Change the oil every 3000 miles. I would find a Neon or (SRT) specific forum and post there.

Turbo engines are nothing special in terms of maintenance except they require deligent following of changing oil and likely synthetic.

Note SRT life’s are typically short mainly by previous owners and somewhat design as they were a really cheap speed thrills vehicle. Enjoy it while it lasts :slight_smile:

How was it mod’d? The SRT-4 came from the factory with a turbocharger. It also came from the factory without mufflers. The turbo and catalytic converters were enough to keep it quiet.

It has a turbo timer so I’m not too concerned about letting it idle whe I stop driving (but I do know to let it idle).

It smokes (blue smoke) when I start it in the morning, and sometimes I get black smoke when I suddenly accelerate. So I know it’s burning oil, but I don’t know where it is coming from.