Bleeder valve vs. Jiggle pin 98 cavalier 2.2

I’m not a mechanic at all. But I have no money. So I left figuring it out with YouTube and you wonderful people in forums. On the 2.2 l 1998 Chevrolet cavalier, does it have a bleeder valve or a jiggle pin in the thermostat? I replace the thermostat and I didn’t see a jiggle pin spot. But it’s leaking a little bit. So I’m going to take it apart and look at the gasket which I may have put on incorrectly. When I first got it that put the gasket around the rim of the thermostat and it fit perfectly on there. But that’s not the way the old one was. It was just stuck in there not attached to the thermostat at all. I found that cumbersome when I put it back together because there’s nothing to hold that gasket right where you want it when you first put it in there if it is just kind of Free falling in there. Like I told you I’m not a mechanic LOL

If the old thermostat does not have a bleed hole or jiggle valve then the new one generally won’t either. Not all cars have these.

The gasket does exactly that… lay there. I personally smear a little RTV sealer on at least one side to hold it in place while I install the outlet. On older cars, I’ll even ditch the gasket and lay a bead of RTV sealant only to seal things in case the surfaces have warped or pitted. That might be your problem.

1 Like

I have a can of high tack gasket sealant in the shop that I use that holds the gasket in place in that situation.

Spray one side of the gasket, and place it on the component for five minutes before installing.

Tester

1 Like