Best Driving Practice with Automatic Transmission

I’m driving a 2007 Subaru Forester with an automatic. Having driven a standard transmission for decades, I find myself easing off the throttle just before I the transmission is going to shift, and then gently accelerating again. My question is this. Is this habit going to prolong or reduce the life of the transmission? And, are there any other driving habits which are likely to make the automatic transmission last an extra few years? Thanks for your response.

You will get more expert opinions on this (I am not an expert) but I would think that letting up on the accelerator just before an automatic is doing absolutely no good for your transmission - that’s why it’s an automatic.

It does the work.

As to making your transmission last, just drive carefully and follow your owner’s manual for maintenance.

I don’t think letting off the gas slightly either helps or hurts the transmission. When you let off the gas that is in effect a signal to the transmission to shift. The things that driver’s do to harm the auto trans that come to mind first are:

Shifting into drive while still rolling backward, and shifting in to reverse while still rolling forward. In other words using the transmission as a brake. Best to come to a full stop with the brakes before shifting into drive or reverse.

Next, is using the transmission to hold on a steep hill. Better to hold the car still with the brake and quickly move to the gas when it is clear to move forward.

Shifting into park while still rolling.

Using park without setting the parking brake when parking on a steep incline.

I’m sure there are more, but others can add to this list.