Best combo of fuel economy and winter weather capability

Hello, I’ve got a question about the best vehicle to purchase that can handle winter weather and get good gas mileage. I will soon be moving to Colorado from Texas, and my job there will include 4 days a week of driving about 200 miles per day. Fuel economy is particularly important with that much driving, and before this move, I had always said that my next car was going to be a hybrid such as a Prius, but my brother in Colorado says that will never get anywhere in the snow. I currently have a 2000 Acura 3.2 TL. I have very little experience driving in snow and ice. I didn’t especially want to buy a new vehicle, because my Acura is paid off, but it’s only getting 22 mpg now and takes premium gas, so driving it 200 miles per day will be very expensive, and I don’t want to be stuck in my driveway in the winter! What would you suggest for me?

The smallest vehicle you can manage with and a good set of snow tires for the winter. When winter comes spend a little time in an empty parking lot and practice. Many people think they need a tank, but it is only a feeble attempt at making up for lack of experience.

The last time I was in Colorado, it seemed like every other vehicle was a Subaru. Let’s face it, the Subaru AWD system has a great reputation for reliability. Plus the 4 cylinder boxer engine gets great gas mileage with decent oomph. I think the Subaru Outback is rated at 26 mpg Hwy with the automatic transmission. The Forester is more of a SUV type and is also rated at 26 mpg highway. The new 2009 Forester is a very nice looking vehicle.

Essentially, there is a reason why so many people out there own Subaru. The AWD can handle the snow well, it’s reliable and it’s good gas mileage. They are not flashy vehicles, but they are reliable.