Best car for driving in winter - subaru? volvo? other?

I want to be able to get to the ski slopes in Vermont without getting stuck. I want a relatively small car that also allows my 3 legged dog to get in on his own. And a car with relatively good mileage. Not really a big SUV. I worry about roll-overs. I’m thinking of a Subaru outback? Any suggestions?

You might also check out the Subaru Forester, it’s quite a bit bigger now. And if you’re buying new, rollovers aren’t worth worrying about. But you should consider a separate set of winter tires and rims, it’ll make a big difference in the snow.

Subaru Outback, Honda CRV and Toyota RAV4 are good choices.

Twotone

There’s no breaking the laws of physics.

You aren’t going to roll over. When the computer detects an imminent roll, it orders the brakes to limit your turn. So you just plow into whatever you’re trying to avoid.

what ever you choose 4 winter tires/wheels imo,i’ve been using blizzak since 1995
driving in winter to us became worry free,pleasures.stopping,traction,cornering
confidence.put them on my 3 vehicles from dec. to march here in chicago.my personal choice in budget subaru forester and new subaru outback for a little bit more.

You’ll see Subarus all over Vermont. There’s a reason for that. These cars have a very sophisticated AWD system, and will go when some of the others won’t.

The Outback is a good choice, as is the Forester or the Impreza hatchback.

Forget the Volvo. Maintenance and repairs on a Volvo will bankrupt you.

If you’re buying used a Legacy station wagon will be a bit lower to the ground than an Outback, making it easier for the dog to get in and out.

As others have said, winter tires make a HUGE difference, regardless of the vehicle.