Best auto projects for father/son team

I have fond memories of working on vehicles with my dad (he was a mechanic), and I credit much of my shop knowledge and all-around tool skills to my teenage years working with him. Now as the father of two young boys (age 4 and 1), I’d like to pass those skills and that experience on to them when they’re ready. I am not a mechanic by trade, but I enjoy that type of work and would claim to have a moderate skill set for automotive repair. I’m looking for ideas for an automotive repair hobby that I can include my sons in. Some options I’ve considered would be rebuildable cars, classic car restoration, or a specialty such as bodywork/paint. Thoughts on which to choose and how to start preparing for that?

Ideally, this would be a hobby that might generate enough income to break even. I anticipate having a workspace suitable for 1-2 cars after several years. Right now I’m in the middle of graduate school and lack the time or space to actively work on projects.

Aged 4 and 1 . Who knows if they will even care about cares when they get old enough to do the tremendous amount of work required. Very few hobbies pay for themselves.

Since you’re just a hobbyist…
I’d buy something older that already runs without all these dang electronics.
Something that may only need some nuts-and-bolts type parts replacements like brakes, engine parts, body parts, chassis parts, tune-up and fluid changes . …maybe even some painting or upholstery if you’re up to that.
Something that they can learn the basics of wrenches and other hand tools.
( I have a 79 Chevy pickup in the driveway now that runs fine and goes to Home Depot and my rental house a few times a year. )

Not a body-off restoration or anything that big.

I now have 12 and 10 year old boys and a 15 year old girl who is learning to drive.
She said she’d like an older Firebird.
I said ‘‘oh, good, a father/ daughter project car.’’…and she looks down at her perfect nails…!