Bent frame

I’m sure you’ve been asked this before. I have an 05 toyota matrix that was hit on the right front end. it shouldn’t have been more than a fender bender, had the woman driving the suv crept across the intersection instead of flooring it. ramming my car. I couldn’t open my door.

geico wants the body shop to fix it. the certified toyota dealer says they can straighten frames now to within a millimeter and that it should be fine. I had intended to sell the car to get out of the high payments. I live in NJ and here there is some law that says we can’t be compensated for depreciated value. What would you do? Thanks!!

Im no expert here but a bent frame usually meant the car was considered a total loss. However I have heard of them straighting them out BUT this is the insurance company your dealing with! And in my opinion theyre always up to no good.

I had a colleague that went through the same thing with a brand new Mercury that he had only owned 2 weeks. He claimed that the insurance of the party that hit him and was at fault should replace the car. He could prove the loss in value of the car even after it was repaired. However, the insurance company had the advantage and he finally had to settle for a fraction of the depreciated loss on his car due to the accident.