Beat up honda: What's my play?

Hi All,

I’m a noob who knows next to nothing about cars, but I was hoping to tap your wisdom.

I have a 2000 Honda Accord 2 door coupe with a v6 and 186k miles. It’s beat. The frame is somewhat bent from when I tried to change a tire in -14 weather and put the jack in the wrong place and the door creaks when it opens. The alternator was replaced but since then every light on the dash lights up when I brake. The radio and air conditioning don’t work. My kids have trashed the leather in the back, and the side view mirror is hanging by a thread. There’s also rust in the wheel wells. But it’s a Honda, and a mechanic told me it was sound as of three months ago and I’ve put many road trip miles on it this summer and it still drives well. I’ve been reluctant to take on a car payment, as I have another year left on some hefty alimony payments. I’m trying to squeeze every drop out of this.

I just went out and it wouldn’t start. The battery seems fine, as the engine is trying to start, but it won’t turn over (for the last month there has been a high pitched whine shortly after starting it when the car is not warmed up). What should I do? At this point I am not sure I should do anything but tow it to a junkyard. If I have to buy another car, I don’t want to put any money into this at all. But there is a mechanic a mile away. Is it worth towing it to him and getting an estimate? If he says something like $500 then I am just going to have to re-tow it to a junkyard? Or should I pay anything under $xxx amount, get it running, and then trade it in or try to sell it?

I need to decide pronto, as I use street parking in a city that will ticket aggressively for street cleaning and/or having a car sit there for more than a couple days without being moved.

Any thoughts?