Bearings or Rotors?

Hello, everyone!
My car expertise up to now has been oil changes and brake changes.

For about the last two months there has been a dull drone coming from the rear of my 2015 Subaru Forester that just hit 100,000 miles. The drone does not get significantly louder with an increase in speed and does not get better or worse if the car is turning left or right.

The tires have been changed on the vehicle and the drone has remained unchanged on both sets of tires.

Today I had jacked up both rear wheels and found that when I attempted to spin them, they BOTH made a grinding noise as they spun. There was zero play in either wheel and both rotors have visible rusting on their outer edges.

I am far from an expert in fixing cars and am looking for your opinions.

Is it possible that both bearings are bad despite there being no play in either wheel?

Could my rotors be causing a noise that mimicks that of a bad bearing?

Are there any other potential causes for this that I am not considering?

Thank you very much for your time and assistance!

Mike

Where was the grinding noise coming from?

It was a sort of sandy grinding coming from both rear wheels, independently, when I hand-turned them while the car was jacked up.

I bet it’s rear wheel bearings, a common problem at these miles on a Forester. They can check the brakes as they’re taking things apart.

1 Like

So, as a follow-up question and keeping in mind my lack of experience here: how could I know definitively if it were one or the other?

All of my internet research suggests that bearings are not replaced in pairs which leads me to believe that it is uncommon for two of them to simultaneously fail.

What would I be looking for if I were to remove the wheel / what tests could I perform to rule out one or the other?

Thanks for the responses! Very much appreciated.

By using these

Or these

Are you planning to do the repair? I’d find a good subaru shop and have them do the diagnosis and repair.