Battle of the Hondas- and the Spouses

So my husband just got fired- it’s a good thing, don’t worry. He delivered his soul in bloody chunks every day he stepped into the place. After much soul searching (searching what was left after working at that hellhole), he’s decided to go back to school and finish his degree, thus opening up less horrible career options. I’m a middle school teacher, so, well, I don’t make that much. We have two kids 2 and under, so husband is going to watch the kids and scrabble up some extra money by selling stuff on eBay.

Here’s the debate. I drive a 2008 Honda Element, which has 30,000 miles on it. We’ll be paying it off in the next month with the money that WAS in my husband’s work pension fund. (We’re young, so we’re not too worried about digging into his retirement. Besides, I have my awesome teacher retirement to look forward to.) He drives a 2006 Honda Civic with 100,000 miles on it, paid in full. We’re debating on who should drive which car. My Element gets 21-24 mpg and his Civic gets around 30. I have a 7 mile drive to work and my husband will be staying near home most days. If he leaves, it will be on short-ish trips to the park and all those other places that stay at home parents go. Who should drive which car? Should we drive the Civic more because it has a better mpg or the Element because it has fewer miles on it? Let me remind you- we don’t have a lot of money to work with right now. Any ideas?

Whomever does the most miles should drive the Civic. The math is pretty straightforward. The total mileage on the car is basically irrelevant if you take care of them.

And in your case, btw, “taking care of them” means that you should be following the service schedule for “severe” service on both cars. Both of these cars apparently do mostly short trip driving. That will kill a car faster than anything but an accident.