Battery Charge Rate

I am a Physics student wondering how I can get my eyes on the specs for a car batteries charge rate? Specifically a 2005 Toyota prius. Being a poor student I am designing a method to charge the battery without the gas engine that should be real inexpensive and kind of sexy too!

Thanks!

-Josh

Automotive batteries are tough because they don’t use the industry standard, amp-hours, to rate their capacity. Instead, they tout CCA, cold cranking amps. Automotive batteries can be charged at a very high rate until their voltage climbs to 13.8-14.2 or so, then the charge rate must be quickly reduced to avoid damaging the battery.

Other battery types, industrial, lift truck, deep-cycle, that are rated by amp-hours of storage capacity, are “Slow Charged” at C-10, 10% of their rated capacity. So a 100 amp/hr battery would be charged at 10 amps for 10 hours or so…C-20 is used for fast charging, 20% of capacity. If a battery is completely discharged, they can be charged at C-50 until the voltage recovers to about 50% charge, then the rate must be reduced to avoid overheating and damage. In the real world, a voltage regulator controls the charge rate according to the batteries state of charge… This applies to lead-acid batteries. The Prius storage battery is NmH, nickel-metal-hydride I think. You can research the properties of these batteries and the charging protocols used to maintain them.

This article at wikipedia has some of the information you need to develope your idea further. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nickel-metal_hydride_battery You NEED to get the basic chemistry and basic physics, before you can take the next step.

Some newer batteries are rated in a variant of amp hours called reserve minutes. This is based on the average current draw of a vehicle at night with the lights on of about 25A. You can calculate AH from that. Turning off the alternator except at high vacuum would be an interesting idea for normal cars.